Economic news

EU and six countries are for a time exempted from new U.S. import tariffs

President Trump has for a certain period exempted Canada, Mexico and some other countries, including EU states from the raised U.S. import tariffs on two metals, which come into effect today.

In a proclamation made public yesterday, the U.S. President said he would exclude six countries and the EU from the new tariffs on steel and aluminum till May 1, 2018, as their cases are still discussed.

The other exempted countries are Argentina, Australia, Brazil and South Korea. Trump would make a decision on the permanent freeing of these states considering the results of talks after May 1, said the White House. The raised import tariffs of the U.S. were scheduled to come into effect today at 12:01 Eastern Time.

The new tariffs mean 25% on steel and 10% on aluminum, having the purpose of reducing imports from China. Germany’s Angela Merkel said earlier that the European Union was ready to retaliate in case it was not excluded from these tariffs, while the European Commission had the intention to appeal against them at the World Trade Organization.

The North American Free Trade Agreement is in the process of being renegotiated by Canada, Mexico and the United States. And the two states can only be exempted from the tariffs after a successful NAFTA deal, President Trump said

To leave a comment you must or Join us

More news

Back to economic news list

By visiting our website and services, you agree to the conditions of use of cookies. Learn more
I agree