Economic news

List of countries severing ties with Qatar expands to nine

Mauritania has become the ninth country, which cut diplomatic relations with Qatar this week, BBC reported.

On Monday, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, the United Arab Emirates, Egypt, Yemen and the Republic of Maldives announced a break in the diplomatic ties with Qatar. Later, they were joined by Mauritius and Libya's eastern-based government.

Arab countries accused Qatar of supporting terrorist organizations, such as Muslim Brotherhood, and destabilizing the situation in the region.

The authorities of Qatar called the decision to cut diplomatic relations unreasonable, but assured that this will not affect the normal life of citizens and residents of the country.

To leave a comment you must or Join us

More news

Back to economic news list

By visiting our website and services, you agree to the conditions of use of cookies. Learn more
I agree