Economic news

U.S. tariffs on metals are delayed for three countries, some get exempted

The U.S. President Trump has put off the introduction of tariffs on metals for Canada, the EU and Mexico to June 1. Apart from that three countries were freed from such tariffs permanently after negotiating agreements, they are Argentina, Australia and Brazil, according to Monday statement by the White House.

June 1 is considered to be the final point, after which there’ll be no delays for imposition of tariffs, said a source linked to the process.

The U.S. President has previously exempted South Korea from steel tariffs as well, which is connected with reconsideration of a free trade pact, much slammed by Trump.

To leave a comment you must or Join us

More news

Back to economic news list

By visiting our website and services, you agree to the conditions of use of cookies. Learn more
I agree